

Working in Partnership



Planning Applications Committee

Minutes of the remote meeting held (via Microsoft Teams) on 4 November 2020 at 1.00pm

Present:

Councillor Sharon Davy (Chair)

Councillors Graham Amy, Lynda Duhigg, Tom Jones, Sylvia Lord, Sean MacLeod (Substitute), Imogen Makepeace, Laurence O'Connor (Min No 50 to 56), Nicola Papanicolaou, and Adrian Ross (Substitute)

Officers in attendance:

Andrew Hill (Senior Specialist Advisor, Planning) Jennifer Norman (Committee Officer, Democratic Services) Leigh Palmer (Interim Head of Planning) Joanne Stone (Solicitor, Planning)

50 Introductions

The Chair introduced members of the Committee via roll call, and those officers present during the remote meeting.

51 Apologies for absence/Declaration of substitute members

Apologies for absence had been received from Councillors Christoph von Kurthy, Milly Manley and Steve Saunders.

Councillor Sean MacLeod declared that he was acting as substitute for Councillor von Kurthy for the duration of the remote meeting and Councillor Adrian Ross declared that he was acting as substitute for Councillor Saunders for the duration of the remote meeting.

52 Declarations of interest

Councillor Laurence O'Connor declared a personal and prejudicial interest in agenda item 9 (planning application LW/20/0414) as he was a Lewes District Council nominee to the board of Wave Leisure, which runs Newhaven Fort.

53 Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on 14 October 2020 were submitted and approved, and the Chair was authorised to sign them as a correct record.

54 Petitions

There were none.

55 Written questions from councillors

There were none.

56 LW/20/0204 - The Sussex Coaster, 80 - 82 South Coast Road, Peacehaven, East Sussex, BN10 8SJ

A written representation from Councillor Isobel Sharkey was read aloud by the Committee Officer on behalf of Peacehaven Town Council. Written representations for the proposal were read aloud by the Committee Officer on behalf of Andrew Goodwin (Architect) and Mark Best (Planning Consultant).

Resolved:

1. That planning application LW/20/0204 for demolition of public house and redevelopment to provide seventeen residential units with associated vehicle parking and landscaping be approved, subject to the conditions set out in the report and supplementary report as below:

a) Amending point 4 of condition 14 to read:

4) The temporary arrangements for parking of vehicles associated with deliveries, site personnel, operatives and visitors (which should be accommodated on-site if possible); and

b) Additional condition:

Before any demolition or construction takes place on the site an existing condition survey and photographic record of the verges at the existing and proposed access and egress points of the site and all those which bound the site shall be carried out and submitted to the local planning authority, and the verges shall be reinstated to their pre development condition before the development is first occupied.

2. That the application be refused in the event the S.106 agreement is not completed within 6 months.

57 LW/20/0414 - Newhaven Fort, Fort Road, Newhaven, East Sussex, BN9 9DL

A written representation for the proposal was read aloud by the Committee Officer on behalf of David Collett (Trustee of The Sussex Yeomanry Museum Trust).

Resolved:

That planning application LW/20/0414 for replacement of existing concrete and steel framed bridge to the main entrance of Newhaven Fort be approved, subject to the conditions set out in the report.

(Councillor O'Connor declared a personal and prejudicial interest in relation to this item, as he was a Lewes District Council nominee to the board of Wave Leisure, which runs Newhaven Fort. He therefore left the remote meeting and did not participate in the consideration, discussion or voting thereon.)

58 Date of next meeting

Resolved:

That the next meeting of the Planning Applications Committee which is scheduled to commence at 4:00pm on Wednesday, 25 November 2020, in a virtual capacity, via Microsoft Teams, and in accordance with section 78 of the Coronavirus Act 2020 and section 13 of the related regulations, be noted.

The meeting ended at 2.10pm.

Councillor Sharon Davy (Chair)